Where the view is always better.

Zero to Hero with Dark Days

About a week and a half ago, I entered a Firelands progression raid for the first time. I had been there before for trash farming (without much success other than getting my reputation to Honored with Avengers of Hyjal). At that point, I had come back after three months without playing, so I wasn’t sure about my raid awareness from being away for so long.

Incredibly, our ragtag group of ten members, most of whom had not raided together previously, were able to kill every single boss leading up to Fandral Staghelm. Five out of seven on our first raid night together? I’d say that’s pretty impressive. After some discussion at the end of the night, we decided to return the following day to try our hand at Staghelm and Ragnaros. We killed Staghelm on our second attempt after becoming familiar with the mechanics the previous night. Ragnaros? Well, we killed him on our eighth attempt. Firelands cleared in one week!

So let’s back up a bit. How was this possible? It’s all thanks to the leadership of an acquaintance, whom I met earlier in the expansion, in a newly formed guild called Dark Days. Previously, my guild Near Death had become stagnant for quite some time, after our guild leader (who was also a raid leader) disappeared, leaving much disarray in our rosters as well as our progression. After several months of piggybacking off several guilds’ progression raids (during which I got my Defender of a Shattered World title), I decided to take a leap of faith and change my guild for a permanent spot.

This wasn’t the first time I’ve had to deal with guild frustration. If you were a reader of this blog during Burning Crusade, you may remember my frustration with tier 5 content. One thing I’ve learned all these years is to stop becoming too attached to the guild I am in if it stifles my personal progression and enjoyment. On Friday, we went back to Firelands for my first 25-man raid since Black Temple. Of course it was chaotic, but it was also very nostalgic to think back to 25-man raiding in Outland.

Although we only managed to kill Beth’tilac and Shannox this time, it was a nice change of pace from the 10-man raiding we’ve all become accustomed to. The difficult part in transitioning into 25-man raiding is giving instructions to twice as many people, and we are still learning how to keep everyone under control in Ventrilo. However, having a raid leader who can push my progression limit is very rewarding; I’m happy with the transition that I’ve made.

I myself am surprised that I can still compete for the top DPS with an item level of only 366 when some others are already above 370. I’ve decided to take a break from Marksmanship for a bit and go Survival. It’s been serving me well.

Dark Days is recruiting experienced DPS classes of all types, though our highest priority are ranged casters. We are going to continue with 25-man raiding from here on. If you are on US-Eredar, Alliance side, or are looking to transfer a character, feel free to drop me a word (here or in-game), and I will send you to the person to speak with.

We’re already getting a lot of attention for our success, and we’ll try our best not to disappoint.

2 responses

  1. i flipped through a lot of your posts last night and tonight and wanna comment on well done this blog is. What first caught my attention was the guild name and I wasn’t sure if it was the same as the newly formed dark days of my server. Or just some other dark days, regardless your post saying you’re from US-Eredar A. confirmed it! So grats on the raiding, and good luck! catch me in game to discuss anything hunterish or raidish!

    -Bahgz US-Eredar

    31 October 2011 at 16:32

    • How, well done*

      31 October 2011 at 16:32

Leave a Reply

