Where the view is always better.

Playing Old School Style in Northrend

As we start out in the new zones of Northrend, questing and exploring bring back many of the fundamentals in playing a hunter. Stuff away all the knowledge about hunter raiding for now until you’re level 80. We’re going to rebuild it from the ground up.

  1. Your pet is a tank. Tenacity pets are there for a reason, and their viability should not be ignored even by Marksmanship hunters. Their talent trees were designed for tanking, and it would be a loss for us not to utilize it. I advocate the use of a gorilla or a bear for multiple mob tanking because of the current respawn rate. You never know how long ago a mob was killed by someone else and may respawn on top of you.
  2. Pet on defensive. Many might argue with me on this point, but I stand my ground. Having a pet on defensive lets your pet get that initial aggro if you get ambushed. While you are still trying to adjust to that ambush, your pet will already be on their way to defend you.
  3. Hunters are utilitarian. Use your abilities and traps. Unfortunately, Marksmanship hunters no longer have Scatter Shot, but we can still trap, and Deterrence is a good enough substitute for those emergency situations. Always use Misdirection on your pet. It will save you from having to melee.
  4. Tracking is underrated. Quest with tracking on and it will save you a lot of time looking for a mob. Ride around in your mount and look for your target. Because tracking also goes underground, it will let you see if a mob you’re looking for has to be reached another way.
  5. Your shots matter. Combine some of the knowledge from above. The ideal way to quest is to kill mobs in the fastest way possible with the least amount of mana. If you’re trying to get massive damage up front, always use Misdirection. (Marksmanship: use Serpent Sting and Chimera Shot.) Don’t shoot with everything you have. A Steady Shot rotation is still one of the most mana efficient methods.

One of the things I’ve come to enjoy is to quest without the help of Wowhead. Although it’s hard to be able to quest without it completely, I can say I’ve limited myself to using the resource less than 5% of the time. Most of this is to check if a quest is buggy. [I’ve Got a Flying Machine!] is definitely bugged. (The flying machine grappling hook will not hook.) [Seeds of the Blacksouled Keepers] is partially bugged. (Most spores were evade-bugged. I was able to find one that wasn’t and just camped that one spore.) But aside from those cases, I enjoy questing without having to Alt-Tab and having the sense of accomplishment that I solved the quest myself.

6 responses

  1. Who is disagreeing with your pet on defensive? Assuming you slip back into Passive for instances, why the hell NOT put it on Defensive when leveling?

    19 November 2008 at 00:03

  2. Defensive is no doubt more efficient for leveling. But I’m stubborn and keep my pets on Passive, especially because that way I can remember to use my Hunter’s Mark/Pet Attack macro. XD

    19 November 2008 at 10:02

  3. I almost always keep my pet on defensive while questing. There are a couple exceptions to this rule though, but the only one I can really think of right now is when I’m trying to run somewhere and do not feel like fighting the mobs I accidentally aggro.

    I like that they made the change that your pet will run to attack something once you shoot, rather than waiting until the mob gets to you and hits you. That’s nice. (That is relatively new, right? With 3.0? I’m not crazy am I?)

    19 November 2008 at 11:04

  4. Ok, agree on not using wowhead, except for my leatherworking. I need it for leatherworking.

    Second, I couldnt agree with you more about tenacity pets, im leveling 3 at once!

    Gotta say I’m enjoying being in leveling mode and I know it will be over too soon.

    19 November 2008 at 12:48

  5. I always have my pet on defensive these days. The auto-attack-what-you’re-attacking thing is great for instances, and as long as you watch him, it’s all good.

    19 November 2008 at 13:24

  6. Darkline

    Only reason I see to keep it on passive when questing is when using a Gorilla and there are passive mobs around…e.g. Worm attacks you but Mammoths in the area, Gorilla on defensive automatically does Thunderstomp which hits the pack of mammoths as well…now you have 5-7 mobs to attack. Not always a bad thing though…just Volley em down but it can catch you off guard.

    31 December 2008 at 12:45

Leave a Reply

