Where the view is always better.

We Interrupt This Broadcast

I’m in the middle of writing a post, but it’s taking longer than expected, with schoolwork and all. Rest assured that it is coming! In the meantime, Lassirra asked me to participate in a game of tag.

Where was I when these events happened?

September 11 Attacks

September 11, 2001: It was a Tuesday. The only reason I remember this is because I was in a Spanish class, and since my high school was on a block schedule, it was a B day. I was in class, then a Latin teacher, that was my Spanish teacher’s friend, came into the class to tell her the news. You could just see the expression on her face. Our teacher turned on the television, and we watched the images of the first tower in flames for about 20 minutes before returning to our class subject.

For the rest of the day, we would keep up with the news because all our classrooms have television sets, though sometimes teachers would keep them off so the students wouldn’t be distracted or worried. I went to high school about 20 minutes from the Pentagon in Northern Virginia. Because of this, many students had parents who worked in Washington and for the government. Parents took their kids home for fear of a greater attack that never came. Our principal made an announcement at the end of the day and reassured the students that they were safe. The next day, the school system shut down for one day to assess the situation.

Every day for the next several months, local television stations would show the face of the Pentagon as it was being cleared out and reconstructed.

Space Shuttle Challenger Disaster

January 28, 1986: I wasn’t even born yet, let alone conceived. If you were to talk about Columbia instead, that’s a different story.

Hurricane Katrina

August 29, 2005: I had barely arrived as a freshman in college. I would read The New York Times every day, and all the headlines you see in the second week of classes were about the approaching Katrina, its landfall, and its consequences. Many universities in Louisiana shut down and cancelled classes. As a result, my school was one of the many that had opened its doors to students from Louisiana so that they can continue their studies. We had students from Tulane and other schools housed in the lounges-turned-rooms of our dorms, and the current students understood the situation despite living in more crowded buildings.

I personally knew a high school friend who eventually transferred out of Tulane to a school in Virginia so she could be with friends we had known through high school. It’s one of the examples of the impact of the disaster on the people’s outlook in the city.

Two years later, I was in the New Orleans area for a spring break immersion program. I got to see the lasting reminders of the disaster that was brought upon by Katrina.

Reagan Assassination Attempt

March 30, 1981: Not born yet. Only through the history books.

John Lennon’s Death

June 8, 1980: Not born yet.

Kurt Cobain’s Death

April 5, 1994: Who? I was born, but at the time I still lived overseas, so I could’ve cared less about Kurt Cobain.

John F. Kennedy Assassination

November 22, 1963: I only know this through the history books.

Boy, don’t you guys feel old? It’s sad that I can really only comment on two things here. The interesting thing is, my school newspaper printed a column about September 11 and Katrina yesterday and how the people in my class year have been faced with a disaster every time we moved on to a different segment of our education. God forbid if something were to happen again in 2009.

I pass this tag along to:

5 responses

  1. These events are perhaps less memorable for those of us not living in the USA….

    4 September 2008 at 19:28

  2. Yeah, I agree. Unfortunately, that’s what I got tagged with, so there’s not much I can do. =/

    4 September 2008 at 21:42

  3. Yer for us not in the US these are some unknown events! Obviously not events like Katrina but the space shuttle disaster?
    Anway strange post but quite interesting :)
    First time I have visited your blog and I have to say I like it. Feel free to drop by and see what you think of mine :)
    Keep up the good work!
    samownall – World of Warcraft Blogger

    7 September 2008 at 13:05

  4. I know how you feel about being too young for a lot of those events. I’m kinda glad I didn’t get picked on for that shared topic! rofl

    19 September 2008 at 23:31

  5. Goofball Jones

    Not sure where you got your info from, but John Lennon was killed on December 8th, 1980. Just FYI. And this was pretty much world-wide news as the Beatles were popular just about everywhere.

    11 October 2008 at 03:17

Leave a Reply

