Where the view is always better.

The Neverending Story?

I enjoy Wednesday nights because it’s the night our guild takes off from raiding. It’s nice to get a break from all the chaos and preparations for 25-man raids. So on nights like these, I generally start farming or questing. And as I looked through my quest log, something hit me. At this point, I have no outstanding quests other than some quest chains that require dungeon content or a group of several people. This does not include quests for raids or daily quests.

When I started raiding 25-man, I hit a slump where I wouldn’t quest at all. I had completed half of Netherstorm and none of Shadowmoon Valley. then slowly but surely, Netherstorm was finally completed. Motivation for pushing through Shadowmoon Valley quests came from attunements for 25-man content, particularly to get the Champion of the Naaru title and the Black Temple attunement. It’s kind of crazy when you think about it. Burning Crusade was announced with “hundreds of new quests”. Has anyone ever really counted? Did I really complete the majority of those hundreds of quests?

The thing is, I enjoy plain old questing more than daily quests. What happens when the single driving reason that kept me playing early on is suddenly being taken away, catching me unprepared? I don’t want to lose interest in my hunter, but what would I do when I’ve run out of quests? Sit around in Shattrath on the LFG channel? That doesn’t sound too promising. I can’t bring myself to do dailies for another set of factions after getting exalted with the Shattered Sun Offensive. All that daily questing burnt me out I think.

I feel like not many people can say they’ve gotten to this point, at least on my server. I wish Blizzard implemented more new quests with each patch because the story should not end where the quests end.

7 responses

  1. you could try to do all the quests in outland…

    One of my guildies is trying to every single quest in the game, and get exalted with every faction possible. He reckons he has outland done and eastern kingdoms almost finished.

    sounds crazy to me but he’s doing it !

    7 August 2008 at 10:13

  2. That’s exactly it. I’ve done all the quests in Outland except the outstanding ones I mentioned above. I thought it wouldn’t be possible, but I guess I did it.

    7 August 2008 at 10:20

  3. Yea, I hit that spot with my Old Druid for Outland quests… started farming primals and making mass coin if I was lazy, if I was feeling in a mood though, I would take to the road and try and complete all the old land quests… if you want at least a TINY bit of difficulty start in Silithus and work your way back, trying to solo all the dungeon quests you get. Thats what I started doing as my Old Druid was a new toon just before the start of BC

    7 August 2008 at 10:47

  4. I sort of envy you. I’ve got loads of quests to do in Netherstorm and SMW and I never seem to get the time or the focus to do them. If I’m desperate for gold it seems quicker and easier to make a couple of dailies… but I know the real quests would really be more fun. Shame on me. I’ll pull myself together and do more of them after reading this.

    7 August 2008 at 10:50

  5. @Larisa: I actually made all of the gold for my epic flier from questing in Netherstorm… Took me a little over a week to clear NS of quests, and that got my to just over the gold needed for epic flight. Thats factoring all the vendor and AH trash I got. I think I got 1 JC world drop recipe that sold for somewhere between 400-500g, but other then that nothing of worth dropped, other than a tonne of netherweave which sells for tonnes.

    7 August 2008 at 11:01

  6. Did anyone else start humming the title theme to the movie when they saw title of this post? Anyone? Someone?

    Sitting around LFG as a hunter is impossible. Despite being in Tier 5 and equivalent Tier 6, I cannot get my hunter into groups. It’s so awful. Yet my perky healing priestess has no such problems! Bleh.

    7 August 2008 at 11:22

  7. I’m with you, Lor…I LOVE doing quests! Especially with one or two friends…makes the time go quickly, we progress rapidly, and have a blast. We just finished up almost everything in Outland; now, we need 4 or 5 people in a group to do more.

    7 August 2008 at 12:46

Leave a Reply

