Where the view is always better.

On Attunements

Anyone ever notice that Attumen the Huntsman‘s name is very similar to “attunement”? I personally think Blizzard did that on purpose, especially since 10-man raids were new compared to the old 20-man and 40-man raids of pre-BC. He also serves as a gear check for those who want to start raiding Karazhan.

In the last few patches, Blizzard has been lifting attunement requirements of raids one by one. Surely, this makes it easier for guilds to continue progressing to higher levels even if they’re stuck on one boss in a raid previously required for progression. My guild has moved on from Serpentshrine Cavern and Tempest Keep to Mount Hyjal without downing either Lady Vashj or Kael’thas. Rage Winterchill, Anetheron, and Kaz’rogal have all been downed in the past month.

When I did the PuG Karazhan mentioned in the previous post, someone mentioned that if you didn’t do the Karazhan attunement quest line, you won’t be able to pick up the quests for the raid. That would present a problem as you won’t be able to pick up any of the Violet Signets that’s usually one of the first epics people get when they start raiding. Getting Violet Eye reputation will also be somewhat slower because you don’t get the reputation from turning in quests.

At some point two months ago when I had just started raiding, I decided I still wanted to do the attunement chains for all the raids so I can get the same type of experience others did when BC had just come out. As of now, I’ve done all but the Heroic Arcatraz and Magtheridon parts of the Trial of the Naaru quests (Tempest Keep attunement), and I need the signet from Nightbane for the Cudgel of Kar’desh quest (Serpentshrine Cavern attunement). Recently, completing these quests would give you the title of “Champion of the Naaru“. When you think about it, why wouldn’t you want to be a champion? Achieving this title takes you to all the entry-level raids. (Not that Magtheridon was easy until patch 2.4.) It gives me the motivation to do more heroics and continue upgrading my gear. It takes you to a whole lot of new content that I’m trying to see before WotLK comes out.

It’d be great if I can complete the attunement for “Hand of A’dal“. It might not come before WotLK, but it’s a nice goal to work towards. However, Sunwell Plateau might be out of reach I’m afraid.

The only thing I regret is completely skipping endgame pre-BC content and dungeons/raids. I never went into any of them or did any of the attunements, and I probably never will. (At one point, I had all the quests for BRD, but I grinded the 1 more level needed to get into Outland.) So this is perhaps a consolation of my past mistake.

I’m excited to see what kind of attunements Wrath of the Lich King will offer.

What are your goals on attunement? If any?

2 responses

  1. To be honest, I have no attunement goals. I’ve done them all at least once on one character or another. I’m not too concerned with pushing forward and maximizing that aspect of my characters.

    What I would like to do, however, is do some more old-school, vanilla raids. Known on my server as retro-raiding, it’s an opportunity for people to re-examine old content that they probably haven’t seen for months or, in the case of people who joined post-The Burning Crusade, to see content that they’ve never seen before. While I’ve completed all pre-TBC raids with the only exception being Naxxramas, I love the idea of going back and seeing them again, if only to hear the exclaimations from my friends who didn’t know what a raid was even when they first stepped foot into Karazhan.

    If you’ve never seen any of the content, I’d highly recommend heading back in and seeing it. I still get chills entering Molten Core and seeing the awesomely huge mobs there, I love the ancient troll ruins of Zul’Gurub, even the two An’Qiraj raids are still pretty spiffy to behold. Some of those instances were just really awesome to explore and I enjoy the boss fights mechanics.

    Also, I want my raptor mount from Zul’Gurub. After I get my bear mount from Zul’Aman (hopefully this Saturday evening when we head back in!), that’ll be my next goal.

    30 May 2008 at 11:34

  2. I really wish I could go back an do vanilla raids and dungeons, but a PvP server like mine seems to lack the motivation to do much of the older content anymore. Even with alts, a lot of people seem to be more interested in powerleveling them instead of redoing the content. It may have something to do with the fact that a lot of guilds are raiding for progression. I see a few LFMs for Zul’Gurub here and there, but I don’t think there’s a general desire to go back.

    30 May 2008 at 14:54

Leave a Reply

