Where the view is always better.

More Attack Power!

Epic gear is nice, even when it’s welfare epics. Welfare epic is generally defined as epic gear not obtained through raiding.

I finally hit exalted with the Shattered Sun Offensive on Friday. Perfect timing too, with the 1-month mark to celebrate the release of Patch 2.4. It was the first thing I did that day after realizing I had run out of daily quests the day before and was left with 304 reputation to Exalted.

Exalted with Shattered Sun Offensive

I paid a visit to the SSO quartermaster and bought myself the [Shattered Sun Pendant of Might] and a [Tabard of the Shattered Sun]. It’s fun going around the Isle and watching NPCs greet you and welcome you. SSO is also very generous with their gifts when your reputation with then increases. With this being my second faction with which I’m exalted, I’m gonna go and work on my 10k rep remaining for Cenarion Expedition. If only I could get exalted with the Aldor, I can get the pendant to proc.

I also went into the Botanica for the first time on Thursday night. I was rewarded with my third piece of the Beast Lord Armor: [Beast Lord Cuirass].

Friday was also my first time completing heroics. I ran heroic Shadow Labyrinth and Slave Pens with three guildmates and 2 separate PUG mages. Heroic Shadow Labyrinth brought me to 35 badges for [Steadying Bracers]. I also picked up the original Serpentshrine Cavern attunement quest from Slave Pens.

After equipping all that new gear, I reached over 2000 attack power while buffed with Aspect of the Hawk and Trueshot Aura. Talk about damage!

That got me thinking, I remember when I started playing that my friends told me to stack more on Agility as a hunter. This became a dilemma when socketing gems because the agility gems don’t contribute the same about of AP as actual AP gems. All my red (and derivations of red) gems are AP rather than agility-based. I’ve read that marksman hunters are all about burst damage, so the AP gem is preferred over agility. However, my crit chance has taken a dip lately. I remember when I was in Hellfire, I had a crit chance of about 18% or more. Now it’s 16.2%. The only critical hit buff I get is from [Bladefist’s Breadth]. I’m hoping to get better once I get the agility enchants. And if I finally get the [Stabilized Eternium Scope], that will also help. (Though I’m still leaning towards the Savagery enchant for Sonic Spear rather than the 2H agility enchant.)

2 responses

  1. Grats on exalted. I just got my new neck on Saturday, and pretty much all the money I made from dailies went to Marks of Sargeras to hit exalted with Aldor just a few days earlier. The proc is crazy. I think it went off pretty much every fight. Don’t forget to buy a tabard too. It is one of the best looking in the game.

    If I recall correctly, the mark of an MM for going to KZ at the start of BC was 1800 RAP and either 15% crit. So you’re pretty much on. If money is not an issue swap a few AP gems for Agi. The proc on the neck is worth a fair amount of AP as well. See how Glinting Noble Topaz treat you on Cheeky’s spreadsheet since you don’t seem to be hit-capped.

    I’ve heard many people talk about burst spec with MM, but I disagree. Burst damage goes hand in hand with Crit, and MMs are not built around crit. MM is about consistent, non-burst damage from ranged which is what a raid wants. Yes, you get huge numbers but you don’t get them as often as a SV is trying to. SV is a burst tree, or at least it wants to be. That’s it’s biggest flaw. Not to say it isn’t useful, just that I expect another revamp for it in WotLK.

    28 April 2008 at 09:43

  2. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation :) Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Scrotal.

    18 June 2008 at 20:39

Leave a Reply

