Where the view is always better.

That Lame Duck Period

For some reason, the new year has brought a “lame duck” aura over Cataclysm, where we are just waiting for the release of the next expansion. This is actually the first time that I have cleared raid content for an expansion while it is current. Loronar, Destroyer’s End, killed Deathwing two weekends ago. Now I’m beginning to focus on my somewhat neglected alts to see if I can get them to 85 before the next expansion.

Cataclysm moved surprisingly fast. The final raid content was released within one year of the expansion’s release, staying true to Blizzard’s commitment at quicker expansion releases in the future.

This may be somewhat concerning for casual players because they may feel that game content is moving at a much faster pace than they can keep up with. Even I’m still trying to catch up on finishing the Argent Tournament. The speed of this expansion really hit me when I realized I can remember last year’s Lunar Festival like it were yesterday.

So what does a hunter do at end of his hunting season? I don’t intend on hanging up my weapon anytime soon, but perhaps putting more time into those neglected alts of other classes will continue to bring new perspectives into how to improve my hunter gamelay.

What will you do?

10 responses

  1. Mechakisc

    The biggest thing you can do to improve yourself as ANY dps is L2tank, and L2heal. knowing what the support classes’ jobs are helped me in a myriad of ways.

    7 February 2012 at 13:26

  2. Pingback: That Lame Duck Period | WoW Hunters Hall

  3. Ril

    Still waiting for the last 2 heroic bosses to die. Then we will farm the madness-mount for all our main and backup raiders.
    Inbetween there’s plenty of time for a little pvp (still looking for a rbg group though), farming transmog gear, getting achievements, do DMF dailies when they’re up, playing the AH help out other people… So yeah. I don’t mind logging into the game only for a few mins a day besides raiding, which will be 1-2 days before long.

    Oh, and I solely play my hunter, a 84 twink very rarely, and my AH toons. :)

    7 February 2012 at 18:28

  4. Jaeger

    I’m one of those casual players. 5/8 in DS, 6/7 in FL, 0/4 in BoT, 0/6 in BD and no heroics…

    We’ve been trying to go back and get old achievs for wrath raids, doing BC raids for xmog (I’ve been trying to solo some of them). I’ve also been hitting the AH, collecting looms for alts that I’ve been seriously neglecting, working on Exalted (37/40), collecting pets and mounts, and working on misc. achievs. Interestingly enough, that’s what I usually do, raiding current tier content is something I’m doing for the first time thanks to LFR acting as an entry point…

    7 February 2012 at 19:06

  5. Get Achievements.

    It’s everything we can do ^^

    http://maldy.net

    7 February 2012 at 19:17

  6. Bheleu

    I’ll be going Insane!

    http://www.wowhead.com/achievement=2336

    8 February 2012 at 08:15

  7. Pingback: How to Resist Cabin Fever | WoW Hunters Hall

  8. Scugger

    Given that I have 12 85′s and 5 other toons from 77-83 I will be leveling the 5 and getting them as geared as possible in DS LFR and VP gear. With 87 mounts I’ll be soloing for the Cata Drakes and some of the earlier content mounts. Need to level my priest up to 525 in inscription to cover all the professions. Most of all I’ll be accumulating BOE transmog gear for future sale and continuing to make gold anyway possible to have a horde available for the new patch. I look forward to the MOP patch drop now that I have 3 JC’s. Getting recipes and being the first to be able to sell all the gems will be a plus.

    9 February 2012 at 17:20

  9. Hi, love your blog! Oh, and tag!! http://sesameepets.blogspot.com/2012/02/tag-to-sixth-power.html :)

    24 February 2012 at 18:48

  10. I’m in the same boat. My casual raid group accomplished our two goals: Kill Deathwing (got him at 5%), and finish our Dragonwrath. Now most of our raid group is quitting for SW or to focus on school.

    I’ll probably work on alts/achievements/PVP in the meantime.

    14 March 2012 at 21:27

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.