Where the view is always better.

Thank You, and an Invitation

Today’s entry is brought to you by the 2011 Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving Event. Please support other bloggers participating in this event, as well as other members of the Blog Azeroth community.

Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving Event 2011Giving thanks sometimes can feel like a very superficial thing these days. We thank others when they congratulate us after earning an achievement. We thank raid leaders when they loot us that shiny epic we really need to increase our just-as-superficial item level. We thank our random party members for finishing a dungeon run without any problems. We thank our new friends and colleagues when we join a new guild. World of Warcraft bloggers thank each other for commenting on our posts, sending in e-mails, and listening to our podcasts.

Even so, allow me to say once more. Thank you.

When I returned to the game a year ago, the hunter blogging landscape had completely changed. All of the familiar faces of hunter blogging from Burning Crusade were nowhere to be found. I had to relearn my way through the community again to pick up where I left off. Of course, the friendly faces of the Twisted Nether Blogcast did not change much.

To be honest, I was at first skeptical with the presence of the new hunters on the block like Frostheim and Euripides. Over time, I realized the dedication they have to the hunter community. Although Warcraft Hunters Union has become a powerhouse, Frostheim wants the rest of the hunter blogging community to thrive as well. Maintaining both OutDPS and Hunting Party Podcast must be a good amount of work for Euripides.

There are also those who are up-and-coming bloggers who may never reach the same fame among the average players, but their contributions to the blogging community have also been invaluable with thought-provoking observations and comments. A simple thank you to Dakona, Durendil, Faeldray, Garwulf, Gavendo, Jcsway, Laeleiweyn, Lyraat, Morynne, Peregrina, Phyllixia, Quori, and Zanbon just for your writing. This list is as exhaustive as my reach can be, but don’t feel left out if your name hasn’t reached my ear yet. If you keep writing, it will in due time.

But Thanksgiving is not just about thanking; I would also like to give back.

I realize there isn’t much I can do personally as an individual, but I would like to get to know my readers and other bloggers better. If you are interested in connecting, I would like to add you as a friend on Real ID.

This means, if you are an Alliance player, I am willing to utilize the cross-realm party function and run dungeons with you. Sometimes connectivity is the best form of support among bloggers, and if we aren’t glued to our own blogs, we are usually glued to our characters. I’ve always believed that the best way to get to know World of Warcraft bloggers is to observe them in their own environment, which is why a long time ago I visited Pike on her home realm. Even if you are a Horde player or a non-hunter or a non-blogger, you are welcome in my circle as well.

While this is an open invitation, understand also that there is a certain level of privacy that should be observed connecting with people who are previously strangers. I hope all of you know how to respect this.

With that said, feel free to send an e-mail with your information to 35yards [at] gmail [dot] com, and I will reply when I’ve added you as a friend in-game. Thank you in advance if you are accepting my invitation. Even if you won’t accept it, I still thank you for supporting the community by reading this post.

5 responses

  1. What a fantastic outreach into the WoW Blogging community – Beyond the Blog! Expect an email from me. :)

    <3

    ~ Effy

    27 November 2011 at 13:33

  2. That is a very generous invitation, indeed! I hope you have many takers.

    28 November 2011 at 15:15

    • Thanks for the support, Kamalia!

      29 November 2011 at 00:44

  3. TY Lor! Hunters are pound for pound the BEST community within WoW. Nothing like what we do for one another in any other class community.

    Keep up the good work!

    (FYI…my main is Horde. Though I am working on another Alliance hunter I can take to 85. My primary Alli Hunter is in the WHU, so he is level capped.)

    29 November 2011 at 15:19

    • Like I said, I’ll add you even if you’re Horde. ;)

      29 November 2011 at 17:11

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.