Where the view is always better.

The View from 35 Yards

wow-deskspace

Following in the footsteps of Kestrel, Matticus, and Jess, I’ve decided to put up my humble desk setup at school and what you would see when I play World of Warcraft. It’s a testimony that you don’t have to have a shiny system to play the game or be using that much extra equipment.

  • Dell Inspiron 700m, 2.0 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, 40 GB Hard Drive
    (I’ve been using the same computer for almost 4 years now. It has endured beatings and many games of intense graphics, the first of which was Battle for Middle Earth.)
  • AcomData E5 250 GB External Hard Drive
    (This is where I run World of Warcraft from now.)
  • Samsung SyncMaster 151V 15″ Monitor
    (Most of the time, this monitor is turned off. I usually only use it when I’m doing work, WoW-related or not, and need a second screen for quick reference. As a matter of fact, I have the GPSA Engineering Data Book open.)
  • TDK Tremor Xa-10 Speakers
    (They’re the orange things. I started using external speakers when my laptop finally succumbed last month to the design flaw that causes its speaker cables to fatigue and break with age.)

I’d be interested in seeing what you’re using to play. It’s always fun to see what other people can come up with to enhance their gaming environment.

That about wraps it up this week for the generic posts to ease me back from vacation into the mood of writing more hunter-related stuff, which will start to appear again next week. If you find spare time this weekend, go check out the All Things Azeroth podcast episode 97. I managed to sit in on their recording session, which was full of fun.

6 responses

  1. Even if it isnt fancy, it works for you, mine is just as humble, and just as effective!
    ~Sy

    23 January 2009 at 08:43

  2. I had to do a double take. I thought that was a bottle of scotch on the right.

    23 January 2009 at 12:21

  3. lol we have the same exact monitor lol

    as for system specs..My system was built between August-September of 2004..thats right, right on time for the release of WoW. I logged in at exactly 11:29 pm PST, on Lightbringer…been playing ever since, and my system has run Half-Life 2 and Dawn of War up until Company of Heroes and Supreme Command put it on it’s knees…needless to say its rebuilding time but my system so far has lasted me from 2004-up until i replace it sometime this year :) not bad for a first build

    23 January 2009 at 12:45

  4. @Matticus — LOL. It’s actually just Lipton tea.

    23 January 2009 at 15:06

  5. RFairney

    The touchpad on this series of laptop is PERFECT for hunters :>
    exactly the right size for a 360 jump-spin when on the right sensitivity setting :>
    Use a 6400 myself, but upgraded the ram, the HD, the video card, the battery, and the wireless card, and removed the modem and cd-drive (I don’t use em, no point wasting space) And still run the game nicely, and it is (as of today) 5 years old
    (birthday gift so I know the date :p)

    26 January 2009 at 23:44

  6. Eilonthay

    Seeing your desk set up makes me wish I had a proper one of my own. Right now I have my monitor and tower squished on this tiny table thing that I think was originally used for a typewriter…it’s very, very old. And then I sit on my bed on a mound of pillows with my keyboard half on a pillow and half on my lap and my wireless mouse off to the side on another pillow. I’m rather stiff after alternating between sitting Indian style and with one or both legs stretched out over several hours, but at least I can just flop over and go to sleep when I’m done with the game.

    The silver lining, right? LOL. At least with a new video card (just put in last month!), I no longer have to put up with ridiculously low frame rates. But Dal still D/Cs nearly every time I log in there…or travel there…or so much as look at the city wrong way. Or any way at all.

    16 March 2010 at 18:00

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.