Where the view is always better.

Discussing Gender Re-Customization

The Gun Lovin’ Dwarf Chick Breana asked viewers of Twisted Nether episode 27 to discuss the ramifications of Blizzard’s new option for character re-customization: gender change.

First of all, a little background. When Blizzard introduced the paid character name change more than a year ago, this sort of change also brought much discussion in the community. A player can create a seemingly entire new identity, especially if he or she is trying to escape a bad reputation. However, the hyped up masses of people who would change their character names did not seem to surface. It was a non-hype. More established players were unlikely to change their character names because they wouldn’t want to have to recreate well-built identities.

So what would gender change bring?

First, consider the role of gender identity in the game. I had a male friend who chose to play a female druid. A few male members in our guild also play female characters. Of course, Ventrilo clears up any confusion as to the player’s true gender. What about when one runs into a female character elsewhere in the server. I will admit that, oftentimes, I see female characters as automatically female players and male characters as automatically male players. Heck, my friend has previously been assumed as being a female.

Second, consider that the majority of the players are well established into their own characters, thus it is unlikely that they would willingly change genders. For a fee of $15, the price is a bit high to be used for vanity purposes. If one had wanted to play the other gender, they generally would have done so since the beginning or will have an alt of the opposite gender.

Gender customization is there for the option. If you do want to change the gender of your character, the ability to do so is available. However, it is unlikely that the use will be widespread. It was also wise for Blizzard to limit character re-customization and to not offer class and racial changes. Though to be honest, we’ve gone through a long period without gender re-customization, so why the need now?

4 responses

  1. WTB female gnome Hunters

    that is all

    18 December 2008 at 11:36

  2. ….BWAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHA!

    /breath

    HAHAHAHAHA!

    Gnome hunters would be hilarious.
    But they’re more seclusive than those night elves…
    That’s saying something!

    Besides, what would they be doing if they weren’t standing in my garden?

    *cough*

    I Hereby apologize to all gnomes. But you guys ARE short. Can’t you engineer something to make you bigger? Without shrinking yourselves?

    As far as gender customization is concerned…

    I agree, the price is hefty. I wouldn’t ever pay that unless the fact I was playing a woman really bothered me.
    But, I play Male characters for just that reason. As far as I figure, my character represents me, so I will make it look like me. Ish.

    I think that only people who really like their character, but wished it was more like them(or the opposite) would actually pay that. I don’t think a guild bank ninja would pay that amount of money to change how they look.

    Therefore, I don’t there really is a danger of this at all. But it might get confusing…

    “Hi!”
    “Hey Guildy! Wanna group up for dailies?”
    “Sure!”

    “Who the hell are you and why do you want to… OH GAWD!”

    18 December 2008 at 13:39

  3. I have a former guild on my server that changed his toon to a female avatar because “he has a female friend who has a douche of a BF who wont let her play with male toons”. WTF is that all about?

    19 December 2008 at 11:43

  4. 0_o

    Wha….

    Anyway – I payed my $15 – I tried it. I’m not sure how I feel about it. In one case (long time female alliance hunter) – it doesn’t feel right. In another – it kinda works. I think it all boils down to how much history you’ve got with the toon.

    Now…that said…If I could change *races* – now we’re talking.

    13 January 2009 at 13:45

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.