Where the view is always better.

Level 80 Outlook

It’s been one week since Wrath was released, and I have devised a plan for level 80. This 11/55/5 build is what I am currently aiming for. At level 73, I’ve currently finished building the Marksmanship branch of the tree.

11-55-5

Beast Mastery

  • 5/5 Improved Aspect of the Hawk
  • 1/5 Endurance Training
  • 2/2 Focused Fire
  • 2/2 Improved Revive Pet
  • 1/1 Aspect Mastery

Marksmanship

  • 5/5 Lethal Shots
  • 3/3 Careful Aim
  • 3/3 Improved Hunter’s Mark
  • 5/5 Mortal Shots
  • 2/2 Go for the Throat
  • 3/3 Improved Arcane Shot
    (Replace with 3/3 Focused Aim for raiding)
  • 1/1 Aimed Shot
  • 5/5 Efficiency
  • 1/1 Readiness
  • 3/3 Barrage
  • 5/5 Ranged Weapon Specialization
  • 1/1 Trueshot Aura
  • 3/3 Improved Barrage
  • 5/5 Master Marksman
  • 1/1 Silencing Shot
  • 3/3 Improved Steady Shot
  • 5/5 Marked for Death
  • 1/1 Chimera Shot

Survival

  • 5/5 Improved Tracking

What build are you looking at?

10 responses

  1. Sadly I’m not looking at level 80 specs just yet, but I have to chime in and say thank you thank you thank you for posting the talents in text form as well as picture form. That was mad convenient, so kudos. I’m not sure why other people don’t do it. I think even I don’t do it. But I do now!

    21 November 2008 at 10:25

  2. @Sonny — I actually used to not do that and just link people. But then I noticed a few people did it, and I was like hey, good idea.

    21 November 2008 at 11:05

  3. People don’t do it because it takes more work! :)

    Interesting build, what pet are you using?

    21 November 2008 at 11:59

  4. You should already know my level 80 plans. :P

    I still heavily question 3/3 Imp H. Mark over 3/3 Focused Aim and 3/3 Imp. Barrage over 2/2 Combat Experience and another point of something else, however.

    22 November 2008 at 02:35

  5. @ihlos — I’m planning on using a gorilla to level, but I think I will go back to my cat after.

    @Rilgon — I believe Focused Aim would be more beneficial in raids, and I will invest in that talent over something else when I start raiding. I am also picking up Improved Hunter’s Mark because I am also using Glyph of Hunter’s Mark, which increases the overall bonus. Improved Barrage has always been something I’m a fond of. Useful during those AoE fights. But if I decide to not use it in the future, I may put the points in Survival Instincts instead because I the 4% increases from Combat Experience seems very meager.

    22 November 2008 at 12:54

  6. Marksmanship Tree:

    ***(The one that gives +to hit): 2
    Lethal Shots: 5
    Careful Aim: 3
    Mortal Shots: 5
    Go for the Throat: 2
    Improved Arcane Shot: 3
    Aimed Shot: 1
    Rapid Killing: 2
    Improved Stings: 3
    Readiness: 1
    Barrage: 3
    Combat Experience: 2
    Piercing Shots: 3
    Trueshot Aura: 1
    Improved Barrage: 3
    Master Marksman: 5
    Rapid Recuperation: 2
    Marked for Death: 5
    Chimera Shot: 1

    ***These points can be put anywhere;couldn’t remember
    ability name

    Survival:

    ***(2% more damage): 2
    Hawkeye: 3
    Entrapment: 3
    ***(Stamina into RAP:2
    Survivalist: 5
    Scattershot: 1
    Lock and Load: 3

    ***couldn’t remember
    ability name

    Ok, this is a great PvP/PvE build. Not only do you pick up
    the hard hitting bonuses of the Marksmanship tree, you pick
    up some very useful abilities in the Survival tree that are
    not only great for PvP, but help out a great deal in PvE:

    I feel if you hate having to constantly respec, and are looking
    for a great spec that allows flexibility:

    Solo-Grinding:

    In solo grinds not only is Entrapment that
    much more useful, having a high health pool through
    survavilist is always a plus and means you can pull those
    extra mobs, right now, with my gear im pushing 14k unbuffed.

    Also, the mana you recover from Rapid Recouperation means
    you can keep pushing without stopping, and since you put those
    extra 5 talent points into the damage dealing talents like
    Piercing Shots, Combat Experience, (stamina into RAP) you
    will drop mobs that much quicker AND you are squeezing and
    converting every stat in your gear into RAP.

    PvPing: Entrapment speaks for itself. Survivalist also shows
    it’s usefull-ness here. On top of that, you don’t have to
    “waste” gems/enchants on stamina, and can focus those gems
    on pure Damage Dealing. You have GREAT burst damage.
    Though here, mana effieceny is not as nice as you most likely
    won’t get every killing blow and thus not triggering Rapid
    Recouperation as often, but then again you are using
    Rapid Fire when focus firing right? That should save you
    enough time to kill the player if you are focus firing.

    PvE raiding: Here you will be doing pretty great as well.
    You can shoot mobs at farther distances, which means you can
    shoot sooner, and stay out of range of AoE attacks.
    Your High HP should be coming in helpful so healers don’t have
    to heal you as much. You also dont have to “waste” gems on
    stamina/enchants. Your stings are hitting as hard as they
    can, your getting all the RAP you can from stats. The
    One thing you are missing is party utility in the forms of
    buffs, but you make up for it with the things listed above.

    Anywhoo, this is the spec ive been running for years, as i
    PvP first then PvE, and i have been pretty high on the
    damage meters, not first, but ‘up there’, but thats because
    i havent tried this spec with FULL PvE gear!! I can only
    imagine if i had FULL tier 6 gear/rings/trinkets.

    Anywhoo i hope you’ve enjoyed this write up, maybe you can post
    it if it’s deem good enough, and i thought i’d like to contribue
    as i a long time reader of this site.

    Keldorei-Nightelf Hunter-Centered Guild-Lightbringer server.

    24 November 2008 at 16:09

  7. @Keldorei — Thanks very much for the write-up! You’ve obviously given careful thought to this as well. Seems like it’s worth a look when we all reach level 80. :)

    25 November 2008 at 01:59

  8. Thank you :) the more choices the better right? :)

    25 November 2008 at 09:40

  9. I believe that you may be wasting talents by going into survival with Improved Tracking.

    Last night we downed Patchwerk in Naxx.

    I did 741,474 of the damage combined with my pet.
    My pet did 171928 of the 741474 damage.

    Improved Tracking would ignore 47437 damage from Serpent Sting and would not benefit my pet. If I had been using Improved Tracking last night, it would have only increased my damage by 26119.1. (569819-47437*.05)

    If I had spec’d into Unleashed fury my pet would gain 20% more damage which would have been 34385.

    171928*.20=34385 more damage.

    I am thinking of specing this way to get more DPS from my pet.

    http://talent.mmo-champion.com/?hunter=532000015000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000035315201035013253105001051&glyph=111318010204

    3 December 2008 at 16:19

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.