Where the view is always better.

Installing Wrath to an External Hard Drive

This is my World of Warcraft folder before installation for Wrath:

wow-prewotlk

This is my World of Warcraft folder after installation for Wrath:

wow-wotlk

Now if you’re like me, then you’re playing on a 3.5-year-old computer (laptop or desktop) that doesn’t have enough space to run Wrath of the Lich King from your internal hard drive. Luckily, Blizzard games are always kind enough for their folders to be played around with. If you want to play from your external hard drive, you can.

  1. Copy your “World of Warcraft” folder into your external hard drive (wherever). (Don’t cut, in case something happens during the installation process.)
  2. Run your launcher from that location in your external before beginning installation. (If you don’t do this step, the installer will refer to the location from where you last started your launcher, which would be in your internal hard drive. It will tell you that you don’t have enough hard drive space.)
  3. Insert the Wrath of the Lich King DVD, begin your installation and let the updaters do their job.

wotlk-install

Your game should now be ready to play. If any shortcuts to your old internal “World of Warcraft” folder remain, purge it just in case. Start up the game from the files in your external hard drive. If things go well, you should be able to just delete the folders in your internal hard drive and free up that 10 GB of space.

5 responses

  1. mark stroud

    I have a question do i just open the launcher that takes to the wow news page, and then insert the cd, and just let it install and it will automatically go to the hard drive?

    22 June 2010 at 17:42

  2. mark stroud

    o i also have all of wow on my external hardrive

    22 June 2010 at 17:45

  3. “Installing Wrath to an External Hard Drive | 35 Yards Out” ended up
    being a fantastic article and therefore I actually was quite
    content to locate the blog post. Thanks a lot,Marianne

    6 February 2013 at 09:20

  4. I got this website from my pal who shared with me concerning this site and
    now this time I am visiting this website and reading very informative articles here.

    11 May 2013 at 12:45

  5. Today, I went to the beach with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to
    my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.

    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!

    LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

    21 March 2014 at 22:21

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.