Where the view is always better.

RE: Girls in Games

At A Girl, a Gun and a Stripey Cat, Mithrilina wrote her thoughts about the perception of women who game. She observed the general progression of men’s reactions after they discover that one player among them is a woman. It’s nothing I haven’t seen before. Whenever the same thing happens when I’m playing with other people, I just keep quiet to myself because I don’t think picking on that girl contributes anything useful.

While I do observe the same trends also in-game, one thing I’m happy about is that these things have no place in the blogging community. I believe Blog Azeroth has equally exceptional male and female bloggers who contribute greatly to the community. Euripedes at Critical QQ, with whom I agree wholeheartedly, once praised the female bloggers and made note of their ingenuity. I’ve played enough games to be respectful of the women that I come across, but in the real world sometimes they just don’t live up to my expectations.

I think one of the reasons men respond the way they do to the women is because it’s not every day that you meet women who are not so engrossed in their own lives that they would play games like World of Warcraft. The women who are a part of my guild are also some of the best players of their class that I’ve seen.

So for the women out there, we thank you for gracing us with your insight. Do understand and give us some time to adjust since we don’t see many of you around in-game and that not all of us respond the same way as those you generally hear about. We will soon see that you’re just as good as any one of us.

And I’m glad we have women like you, Mithrilina, and Lineer as Marksmanship hunters.

11 responses

  1. I must say that I don’t recognize myself in Mithrilina’s descriptions. Maybe she’s been unlucky or maybe I’ve been very lucky. I don’t know. But I’ve never had any hard time in the game because of my gender. I don’t hide it, but on the other hand I don’t market it either. Why should I? I’m just a player like anyone else.

    What is a little bit annoying is the sterotypical view on how women should look that Blizzard shows in the dressing and looks of the characters. Most of the girls seem to have gone through some breast surgery… And at Christmas we’re supposed to run around in bikinis… But on the other hand it’s nothing special for this game, this is how any comic, video etc looks these days. It’s a general thing and most of the time I don’t see it because I’m so used to it. And as long as the stats are the same I’m ok with it (I heard they werent the same in AoC, that would really drive me nuts!)

    Those “celebrations to women” are sweet, still I feel slightly discomfortable about them. If you find them necessary to do, I guess we’ve still got something left to do about being equally treated???

    Or perhaps I should make up a post giving praise to all the male players and bloggers? To return the services…

    23 August 2008 at 09:44

  2. While I don’t see a gender issue in game all that much, I have seen it before in the immature folk. Maybe its because only one or two women are ever in the raids I attend. And most of the time they don’t even use vent, they listen in and have their boyfriends (who also raid) do all the talking….sometimes we joke about the girls being made up so they sound cool and their just multiboxing!

    I will say this though, I would bet the class make up of female players is vastly different then males. Of all the women who play and blog, their character roster seems to lean towards certain classes.

    23 August 2008 at 14:01

  3. @ Aurdon – I hate to make stereotypes, but I’ve certainly noticed that women seem to tend towards priests, druids, and hunters. I seem to recall hearing about a female-only guild somewhere that was having trouble getting tanks, but they had far too many healers and hunters… that really does not surprise me too much.

    24 August 2008 at 10:38

  4. Aurgh! So I have only played for about a year and a half…. and I have been in 5 different guilds, 3 w/ my main, a MM Hunter. These three guilds have been vastly differnt.

    The first I couldn’t get help and was completely ignored.. . so were many of the other players, female & male.. So I left after about 4 months & joined another.

    In the second there was only one other female, who caused all sorts of trouble, ingame & in real life. Most had sexual undertones (BElf always stripping and giving headset sex)… so that led to the guy players think I would be the same.. Not!

    My new guild has it’s good points & bad. As a fairly lrg-to-med-sized guild, they only have 2 other females (one is a wife, one is a daughter) though they do not discriminate. They are all aware I am not the greatest player, and I come out and say so.. so there is no abnormal bashing… They are all supportive…some a little too much. It’s as if they need to protect me.. Not!.. If I screw up and get in a jam, treat me like you would any other guildie… I also started talking on vent with this guild. Unfortunately I have one of those voices, the deep soft ones. This is causing a few of the guys to wanna party w/ me too much. In fact a couple guys have had me greet new guild members, only to hear “what did I tell you?! She has a really sexy voice.” (aurgh) Generally I stay quiet, esp during raids, unless I need to call something out. But I am always wondering if I am there because I am female and my voice, or do they really need a MM Hunter. One time they tried to switch out a more skilled MM Hunter with me for a Kara run. I quickly backed out and went to play an alt. Don’t get me wrong… I actually love this guild in general…I even set-up their website. And yes, I do casually voice play w/ only a select few (3) and nothing my conservative mom would be ashamed of. Many of the players treat me fine… but I still wonder. (Do they make anything that can adjust how your voice sounds on vent? I wanna sound like a 18yr college kid..lol)

    27 August 2008 at 18:38

  5. Pingback: Big Bear Butt Blogger » An Open Letter to Gun Lovin’ Dwarf Chick

  6. Pingback: Girl Power! « Altoholic’s Are Us

  7. /salute

    Don’t pamper us though, don’t pretend we’re entitled, we’re just like you, and neither need nor want special treatment. (Unless of course we’re one of those that just wants to use our girly bits to get our way, but that’s just as despicable as the ‘girls don’t game’ mentality)

    29 August 2008 at 13:35

  8. @Tigerfeet — Absolutely. I never intend to pamper the women who play WoW. You all have just as much potential as us, and I hold the same standards for everyone. As a matter of fact, all the women in my guild are quite strong characters themselves, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    29 August 2008 at 17:10

  9. Pingback: What’s my name again? « Snake in the Grass

  10. Lactic Acid

    Heh – If peoples pamper me I get nervous and worry I’m coming across as a nine year old or something.

    1 September 2008 at 07:29

  11. Pingback: What's my name again? | Reality AFK

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.