Where the view is always better.

What You Leave Behind

In the past 2 days, I’ve had people ask for boosts through Zul’Farrak and the Temple of Atal’Hakkar. Or rather, I volunteered when the question went up in guild chat. When I was leveling to 70, I promised myself that I would help out guildmates the best I can since they’ve been very helpful in helping me fill in empty slots for instance groups. And since my guildmates have a lot more high level alts than I do, I figured I would be useful.

For the countless hours I spent in instances of the 40-60 bracket, I wanted to make sure I can help them with quests and whatnot. With that goal and my own achievements in mind, I went ahead and got a lot of the items attributed to certain instances.

  • I’m not sure how many people now carry the [Mallet of Zul’Farrak] now that Jintha’Alor is no longer an elite sub-zone. I went through the trouble of getting it before Patch 2.3 removed the challenge of going through an uninstanced elite area. It was the single largest concentration of elite mobs outside an instance. To this day, I still find it one of the highly demanded items if people want to finish the quest to get [Carrot on a Stick].
  • There’s also [Yeh’kinya’s Scroll], which I found useful last night so that a guildmate could get more drops from an extra boss in Temple of Atal’Hakkar. Of course, the hard part is killing trolls successively so that you can unlock the rooms in the second floor of the temple. Countless hours spent in this instance proved useful to me last night since I still remembered how to navigate the place.
  • I’ve not had anyone ask me for a boost through Maraudon, but the [Scepter of Celebras] can prove quite useful in teleporting party members to the center of the instance.

When Wrath of the Lich King is released, we’ll also be saying goodbye to a lot of the dungeons we’ve come to know quite well. Over time, all the intricacies of these dungeons will become lost. Who will keep their keys to places like Shattered Halls, Arcatraz, and Shadow Labyrinth? Who will keep the urn to summon Nightbane in Karazhan? How many people will actually gain enough reputation to get heroic keys to these Outland instances as they level their way to Northrend?

They will rely on us older players to have these items. Imagine boosting a new death knight at level 80. Will you remember how each of the boss fights went? The problem is that Outland instance boss encounters were designed more uniquely and creatively than the older instances. Will it be possible to actually boost people if you may need more to ensure the encounter goes smoothly?

Consider what you will leave behind in Burning Crusade content.

4 responses

  1. I have those items lurking around in the bank… I never consider the fact that they (and the similar TBC items) will become “legendary items”, in the hands of the few.

    Something to be said for maintaining attunement type quests, they are often frustrating, but help to form the backbone of the WoW experience.

    20 August 2008 at 21:18

  2. Thank god for keyrings is all I can say. I just wish I could put my UBRS key on it.

    Highly unlikely that I will ever use it again, but I simply cannot bring myself to disenchant it… It is too rare, particularly these days, and cost too much blood sweat and tears to aquire.

    Herioc mech, Kara, ZA… gruuls, mags. We will forget all of them in time, the same way we aren’t much concerned with strath, scholo, or BRS anymore. Even things that used to be super awesome like MC and Ony are now the stuff of reminiscing and just-for-fun events.

    What is currently the ultimate challenge will be something we can do to pass the time if we only have half a raid one day. Lets go 10 man brutallis won’t be as ridiculous a concept as it sounds in 12 months time.

    It’s hard to let go of things you have worked for, so clearly the answer is more bag slots in the bank to store all those souvenir items.

    22 August 2008 at 01:15

  3. It doesn’t take much effort to get to honored with the Outlands factions. Everyone should be able to get a heroic key. I don’t know how many will get a kara key though.

    22 August 2008 at 13:17

  4. Pingback: Speed Level - and What you have to go back for… « Pugnacious Priest’s Warcraft Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.