Where the view is always better.

To Infinity And Beyond

Well, I never thought this day would come, but here it is. 366 days of playing World of Warcraft.

August 16, 2007: After trying out the game on a friend’s account for several days, I bought World of Warcraft and activated the account on the same day. Loronar the hunter was created and leveled to 8 on the same day.

Princess Theradras in Maraudon

Princess Theradras in Maraudon

October 9, 2007: My first blog Ranger’s Bow was created. It was inspired by reading some of the older blogs around, especially BigRedKitty, Kestrel’s Aerie, and Mystic Chicanery.

November 23, 2007: Bought Burning Crusade during Black Friday. It was about $10 cheaper than the suggested retail price at the time.

December 8, 2007: Entered Outland upon reaching level 58. I had such a hard time killing mobs for quests at this time because I was wearing a lot of greens and some gear that was very outdated from the early 50s.

January 17, 2008: Level 70 on Loronar achieved after some heavy-duty questing for a week. I meticulously completed every quest I had in each zone before moving on. We hit level 70 questing around Sylvanaar in Blade’s Edge Mountains.

January 22, 2008: Stopped playing to get ready for the start of spring semester at school.

The Dark Portal

The Dark Portal

March 12, 2008: Reactivated account prior to spring break, in anticipation of Patch 2.4.

March 22, 2008: First Karazhan run with the guild, completed over 2 days. [Beastmaw Pauldrons], [Cowl of Defiance], and [Sunfury Bow of the Phoenix] become my first epic-quality items.

March 28, 2008: Current blog 35 Yards Out created.

April 21, 2008: Obtained [Sonic Spear] from Shadow Labyrinth while helping several guild mates with the trash leading up to and including Murmur himself.

May 25, 2008: Accumulated 5200 gold for epic flying mount.

May 27, 2008: First time into Gruul’s Lair with a PuG group. After a slow start, we were able to finish the place.

June 5, 2008: First time into Magtheridon’s Lair with a PuG group. After three attempts, we defeated him with most of the raid still standing.

A friend obtains swift flying form.

A friend obtains swift flying form.

June 12, 2008: Accumulated 1600 gold for the [Cenarion War Hippogryph].

June 25, 2008: 35 Yards Out is featured on WoW Insider.

July 10, 2008: First time into Black Temple. The Hand of Fate makes its first attempt at High Warlord Naj’entus to 26%. They returned the next week without us and progressed all the way to Shade of Akama.

July 11, 2008: First time into Serpentshrine Cavern with Knights of Redemption. Best attempt at 30%, including surviving an enrage timer. Hydross the Unstable fell the next week.

July 13, 2008: Achieved the title Champion of the Naaru after going with a PuG group for Magtheridon’s Lair.

July 17, 2008: First time into Hyjal Summit. Made ten attempts at Archimonde, and I had bought my [Medallion of the Alliance] the day before.

August 5, 2008: First participation in a guild progression kill in Black Temple by defeating Teron Gorefiend. That night saw my first upgrades from tier 6 content.

August 16, 2008: Where we are today. Will we stay for another year? Only time will tell.

At the moment, I’m going to be playing less than usual because school is starting up again, and raiding will take too much time away from studying. I will most likely continue to post and comment on people’s blogs, so don’t think that I will be going away. It has been a very productive year, and I’m grateful to have friends and fellow bloggers to share those experiences with.

I leave with you some current data. Be Imba! has our PvE gear scored at 225.22, and a 776 score on WoW Heroes. The following charts from my profile at WoWProgress show progression in Agility and Ranged Attack Power, respectively, since I first started raiding in March.

6 responses

  1. Congrats! I’m a Nov 23, 2004 player myself (launch day) but in all honesty I took about a 3 month break back in fall 05 I think.

    16 August 2008 at 09:42

  2. Congrats on a year!

    16 August 2008 at 10:27

  3. Congratulations on a very eventul year of WoW!

    16 August 2008 at 11:34

  4. You’ve made a LOT of progress in a year–congratulations!

    16 August 2008 at 11:36

  5. Grats from me too! How nice that you’ve kept track on your progress even down to details like specific dates… I guess your blogs helped you a bit.

    I’m glad you’ll stick to blogging even though you may play a little less than before.

    17 August 2008 at 14:53

  6. Wow.. that’s some august company.. though I’m not sure how I feel about being called “old” :)

    Congrats on a year!

    Nibuca
    http://chicanery.fibergeek.com/

    18 August 2008 at 14:09

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.