Where the view is always better.

Improving Pet Raiding: WoW Web Stats

It would seem that I have neglected to clarify on the configuration of my WoW Web Stats reports and how I analyze them, particularly regarding pets. The Stoic Guardian‘s Gothyelk did an analysis of his pet’s performance using WWS, and he was keen in observing how much his pet “missed”.

Why did I put that word in quotes?

The reason is because WWS sometimes has confusing terminology. When you click on the Columns bar, there are options for All Miss and Miss. All Miss includes attacks which did not produce damage or critical damage, which means parries, misses, dodges, blocks, resists, etc. Therefore, Miss is a subset of All Miss.

Want a proof? All you need is a screenshot. This is from Nalorakk in Zul’Aman.

From the image above, you will see that the number of Miss, Parry, and Dodge add up to the (All) Missed column. (For the hunter himself, it doesn’t matter that you choose All Miss because ranged attacks generally miss and not parried or dodged, which is why I chose the summarizing column.)

Now if you were considering whether or not to spend more talent points on Animal Handler, what you want to look at is the number of actual misses, not all missed attacks. Unfortunately, we can’t control the parry and dodge chances of a mob. However, positioning our pets at the back of mobs generally reduces the chances to block and parry.

Brajana of Mend Pet also has a great overview on pet management and pet healing to supplement this entry. Pet management is an important skill to have for all hunters, not just Beast Mastery ones. Without our pets, hunters lose half of their whole.

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Improving Hunter Raiding: WoW Web Stats « 35 Yards Out

  2. Forgive the possibly noob question, but what do the WWS reports do that Recount doesn’t? :D

    1 August 2008 at 11:16

  3. Um, I’m actually not sure. I’ve never used Recount. XD I prefer not to become one of those people who complain about their DPS mid-raid. I’d rather analyze everything at the end. I’m also not certain if Recount lets you upload the records onto a site? WWS is at least accessible from the web (once uploaded) since I usually look at parses after closing WoW.

    1 August 2008 at 11:33

  4. Thanks for the link, Loronar!

    Recount is a great tool, but I find that the WWS is easier to navigate and see a good overview of. Also, it can be more accurate, since you can get multiple people’s logs put together in one WWS, in case somehow someone was too far away to catch something or whatnot. At least that’s my understanding :)

    I use Recount to give me a quick review after a raid, see how things went. Then I look more indepth at the WWS the next day to compare myself with the other hunters and see where I can make improvements and such!

    1 August 2008 at 15:18

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.