Where the view is always better.

All Good Things…*

Larísa (formerly of Larísa’s Corner) of Pink Pigtail Inn posed a question that was once asked by Matticus to Phaelia.

Let’s hypothetically assume Blizzard goes out of business and decides to shut down their servers and WoW for good. You have 5 hours before the server shutdown is permanent. What would you do in 5 hours?

Although it is doubtful that WoW will not outlast my actual interest in the game, it made me pause and rethink my gameplay for a moment. The current people I know were introduced to me by friends who brought me into WoW over the course of the past year. They are very generous and helpful people. They’ve allowed me to use a few things from the guild bank so I could enchant my gear, tanked and DPS’d and healed my PUG instances, helped complete group quests, and did dailies with me. Yesterday, the ultimate act of kindness from one of them was to put together a Zul’Aman group for those who were inexperienced and have never been in there.

If the above hypothetical situation were to happen (and if I were elsewhere), I would return to that guild where these people belong to. I would spend time with them and go with them to do whatever they were doing. I’ve never stayed in contact with people I met through gaming for very long. I may have some of their contact info, but I would rarely talk with them. The only thing I would miss the most is the daily contribution from Blog Azeroth. All the posts and insights and sharing we do through blogging brought this game’s experience to a whole new level for me. It’s the daily readings about accomplishments and setbacks that I will miss.

If I had more time, I would take a whirlwind tour of Azeroth and Outland and fill in those grayed out areas in my maps. Places like the Horde starting zones and pre-BC endgame territories I never had much chance to see. The game was built so extensively for a reason, thus it would be a loss to not see everything there is to offer.

There are several options of where I would leave my character. One of my favorite places in the game is on the balcony of the building which houses the ammunition vendor on Aldor Rise. The view there is just stunning. Another option would be to return to Teldrassil, the roots of my hunter and also where he tamed his first pet. Another would be to leave him flying the skies of Nagrand, where I fell in love with Outland.

Larísa is right about one thing: we are not our armor and weapons. But one bow has always been a part of me. The [Ranger Bow] was one of the reasons I wanted to play a hunter when I was looking into WoW. I would buy another one from the auction house and log out with it.

It would give me the sense that I’ve come back full circle to the reasons why I loved the game in the first place: exploration and excitement.

*Who can identify where the title comes from?

11 responses

  1. This is an interesting topic … I guess it’s one of those things that hasn’t occurred to me … Anything is possible though.

    I started a new toon over the weekend, hints of which are on my page but I am not ready to speak of him yet, and took him back to my original starting area Teldrassil where I got my first look at the most intriguing game I had ever seen. The place where Knurd was born. I ran quests that I had not looked at in over a year.

    Upon completing those, I headed into Darnassus and walked through the front gate. There was tree protector walking towards me and I suddenly remembered the awe of seeing that place for the first time.

    It wouldn’t matter if I had an hour, or a month, I would have to head back to the starting areas and look at the things I have noticed in a very long time that first started a love affair with a game called World of Warcraft.

    30 June 2008 at 11:25

  2. I want to say the title is the name of the last episode of a Star Trek series. TNG maybe? I could be wrong though.

    I’ve actually thought about this before, what I’ll do when I quit playing WoW (I don’t think I’ll be playing forever). I think I’ll take Tawyn and Tux down to the fishing docks with the little kids in Stormwind and log out there. It works well with her story, and with my own love of the game actually.

    If Blizz, though, said “We’re going to be ending WoW in five hours”, I’d probably get as many of the guildies together as I could and do some sort of wild raid on either Black Temple (yay wipefest!) or some Horde city. ;P

    30 June 2008 at 12:23

  3. Yes it is Pike, that is indeed the name of TNG’s series finale.

    30 June 2008 at 13:39

  4. Wow, what a lovely respons you wrote! And I like your ideas as well. I´d really love to join you in that whirlwind tour (maybe they could give us some epic-epic flying mounts (warp 10 speed) working in the Old world as a last gift to us before shutting down?

    There are still places I haven’t seen, would be great to have an expert guide to show me the coolest views and secret forgotten spots I hadn’t thought of.

    I guess five hours is a pretty short time. But blame Matticus, he was the one to formulate the question from the beginning…

    30 June 2008 at 15:57

  5. If I could I would re-live the most enjoyable moments in WoW, and without a doubt top of that particular list would be my first ever Onyxia kill!

    A small guild, barely geared well enough to clear UBRS let alone take down Ony, struggled for a few weeks. Wiping ten times a night with no success really started to get to all of us, but eventually, we won.

    It turned out to be a small group of us for that final fight. A 28 man raid in blues and maybe half a dozen epics between us facing the ultimate beast. A untold number of 1 and 2% wipes. The anguish, the frustration, it all built up to what was a defining moment for all of us, that first kill.

    I have never heard that kind of cheering on vent to this day. There was so much tension building up. About 20 people dead on the floor, biting their nails as we wore her down bit by bit. The fight must have taken nearly 15 minutes, and I will never forget that sense of accomplishment and surge of triumph when we finally prevailed.

    That experience is what made me a raider, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    30 June 2008 at 21:03

  6. “All Good Things… ” is the final episode of the television series Star Trek: The Next Generation.

    amirite?

    30 June 2008 at 21:17

  7. I think if that were announced, I’d just not log in.

    I’ve seen Azeroth and Outland as it is now. Seeing it full of people all rushng around to see or do things for the very last time would make it a very different place.

    I’d treasure the momories of what had gone before, and not risk ruining them by trying to relive it all in a few short hours as the servers creaked under the weight of thousands of others trying to do the same.

    1 July 2008 at 09:04

  8. OMG I don’t even want to *think* about that! I’d probably spend the last five hours wondering what to do so much that I’d end up doing nothing.

    Before the world finally ends, I’d head to the Altar of Elune in Winterspring and /sleep on it with just a minute to go.

    1 July 2008 at 12:14

  9. Ooh! Ooh!

    Sun Rock Retreat. Braelyn Firehand. She would leave early to avoid the rush.

    :P

    1 July 2008 at 12:19

  10. As for the blogging community… wouldn’t be the first blogging community that continued to be active and swap stories about byegone topics…

    But maybe that would just be refusing to accept that there is something else out there “alive” and bloggable.

    2 July 2008 at 00:19

  11. Pingback: In Five Hours, the World Will End. What Will You Do? : World of Matticus

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.