Where the view is always better.

Some Things Are Best Forgotten

This piece is a contribution to the shared topic feature of Blog Azeroth on memories from playing World of Warcraft.

Cathmor has had some very pleasant memories from playing World of Warcraft. But what about the things you’ve placed in the back of your mind? Instead of a list on things you remember from playing your character(s), why not make a list of things you may not remember? They can either be items you choose not to remember or events lost to the depths of your abundance of memories.

I’m really bad at ranking, so this will not actually be in any particular order. (Hence the unordered instead of ordered list.)

  • If you are a night elf who decided to grind the Teldrassil quests instead of skipping them, you won’t remember how much time you spent killing furbolgs in Ban’ethil Barrow Den, trying to find the Relics of Wakening, and trying to get out. I choose not to.
  • Your first gold. Remember when you leveled your first character? Do you remember when you received your first hard-earned (read: not given by someone else) gold? I certainly don’t.
  • First party wipe. Whether it be in the Deadmines or Ragefire Chasm, do you remember your first party wipe? I can’t remember it, though I don’t know if that was by choice or because my memory is pretty bad if you go too far back.
  • You would think people will remember it, but the first time you discovered Barrens Chat could have had a lasting impact on you. I guess some things are best forgotten.
  • Death by falling. Some people may remember their first character death, but death by falling is a different story. A slip of the fingers on the edge of a cliff, and the next thing you see is:

X falls and loses Y health.
Your equipment suffers 10% durability loss.
X has died.

  • Your first encounter with a level 70 of the either faction. For a while, I couldn’t tell what race any level 70 characters running around the old world was because they had their spiffy helm graphic on. I just drooled at their epic gear. When you found out they were of the opposing faction, you were already lying dead in the middle of the road.
  • By this time, many people have respecced their level 70 mains back and forth a couple of times that they forget what they spent their first talent point on. Remember the days when you didn’t know what tree was best for what?
  • What did you do before Wowhead and before Thottbot? The old days of questing and finding where items drop was much more difficult than now when information is abundant. When did you first discover all these things could be made easier? (Un?)fortunately, I never got to experience this because I’m a post-BC player.
  • Hitting level 60. In this BC period, who talks about hitting level 60 anymore? Do you remember what you did when and after you hit this old level cap?
  • Finding your first murloc and realizing how much you hate them.

If you have any other memories you would rather tuck in the back of your brain, I’d love to hear them.

5 responses

  1. Oddly enough, I seem to remember each and every single one of these moments.
    I remember my first wipe. I remember my first gold. I remember the serious suck of a world without wowhead. I remember what my talent tree looked like at level 20 before I respecced.

    I even remember the very first Chuck Norris joke I ever heard in Barrens chat:

    “Chuck Norris lost his left testicle in a battle with Bruce Lee. We now know it as Jupiter”

    18 June 2008 at 19:39

  2. I remember my first murloc and how *awesome* it was. :p

    19 June 2008 at 01:00

  3. Strangely enough I don’t remember where I was or what I did when I dinged 70. Afterwards I’ve realized other players make a huge thing out of this, chosing the best place to do it and in what manner. Dinging 70 in style. And of course saving it by taking screenshots.

    My memory is just blank and you could wonder why… On the other hand I remember very clearly going straight away bying a flying mount and how much I enjoyed the first flight. But that is one of the 10 top moments… which I’ll blog about soon.

    19 June 2008 at 04:30

  4. @Euripedes – I wish my memory is as good as yours!

    @Larísa – My level 70 ding was rather anticlimactic. I thought it was going to happen when I went to turn in this quest in Blade’s Edge Mountains, but I didn’t, so I had to grind 2 more mobs for it…

    19 June 2008 at 08:43

  5. AballahSonDi

    I remember my first run in with Murloc’s. Elwynn forest over toward by the lake. It was the first time I /died in game. I remember saying to myself of course cause I had no guild yet, “What the hell why did they all come?” It also took me thirty minutes to figure out I just had to run back to my body. First I waited to “respawn”, than I tried talking to the ghost she said some ridiculous thing about 25 dura blah blah blah, than I saw the arrow and followed it yay for me.

    22 August 2008 at 14:34

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.