Where the view is always better.

Trophies of a Hunter, Part 1

If you’re like me, when you watch a movie that has some kind of adventurer like Indiana Jones, you wish you had a trophy case or wall on which you could display your great collection of items proudly. I’m a pack rat. I have a hard time throwing out stuff because many things have sentimental value to me.

Over the past year, I’ve gotten to see more content in WoW than I originally thought I ever would. In the process, I’ve gotten my hands on a lot of really random things that I find too good to throw away.

My collection is taking up a decent amount of space in my bank, but I don’t want to throw it away. I’m sure a lot of people feel the same way about their pre-BC gear. If I had my hands on [Rhok’delar, Longbow of the Ancient Keepers] or [Lok’delar, Stave of the Ancient Keepers], I wouldn’t throw it out for anything.

So what kinds of stuff do I keep as trophies?

Armor/Weapons

  • The [Wrathtide Longbow] drops from Warlord Kalithresh in Heroic Steamvaults. Yesterday’s run was the first time I’ve seen this bow drop, and I’ve done the instance many times (and have reached exalted with Cenarion Expedition last week). This bow has one of the slowest speeds and is quite good for a Marksman or Survival hunter before you head into Karazhan. It’s not good for Beast Masters because it’s way to slow for MQoSRDPS if you are using a 3:2 shot rotation. The catch? The drop is quite low since, as I mentioned, even I’ve only seen it once.
  • The [Recoilless Rocket Ripper X-54] is probably the closest thing there is to a rocket launcher in WoW. I keep it mainly because it looks just plain awesome. I’ve seen a lot of pre-Kara tanks use this gun because of the stamina buff. I only wish the ammo is rockets, not bullets.:-P
  • [The Hands of Fate] is a plate gear for paladins that’s a reward from one of the quests in a chain originally needed for attunement for Tempest Keep. The reason I keep this piece is because my guild name is “The Hand of Fate”, so it’s nice to keep around.
  • I actually don’t have the [Malefactor’s Eyepatch] yet, but I have the quest that provides it as a reward. It’s definitely going to be a keeper in my collection. Come on, how can you pass on something that makes you look like a pirate? It’s even made of mail instead of leather for the other eyepatches in the game!

Trinkets

  • An [Argent Dawn Commission] is needed to collect Scourgestones from the Plaguelands. I visited the Plaguelands area not long before I headed into Outland. Keeping this trinket still opens the possibility of my increasing my Argent Dawn reputation. I also have an inkling that the Plaguelands may come into play again during world events prior to the release of Wrath of the Lich King.
  • The [Chained Essence of Eranikus] is needed to complete a dead-end quest in the Swamp of Sorrows. The quest chain takes you to the Temple of Atal’Hakkar. Eranikus is a green dragon who tried to fight the Nightmare in the Emerald Dream. I’m keeping this because the poison effect is pretty nifty. I didn’t want to lose it to a dead end quest that Blizzard may extend in the future.
  • [Power Infused Mushroom] is a reference to Super Mario World, where you get 200 points from stomping on mushrooms. Initially, I found this trinket to be somewhat useful when I had mana issues in the early 60s before the +Intellect gear started coming in.
  • The essential [Carrot on a Stick] is a quest reward of killing Gahz’rilla in Zul’Farrak. It’s one of the first trinkets you will be able to receive once you hit the 40s. Mount speed increase is nice when you’re still on the slow mounts.
  • Now I never was able to test how well a [Hypnotist’s Watch] works in reducing threat because I had better trinkets, but it’s an interesting use effect, so I’ll keep it around anyway.
  • [Mark of the Chosen] was useful back in the 40s when I was still learning how to keep aggro on my pet. At least when I went into occasional melee, I had a chance of receiving the nice buff.
  • At first, I had a hard time in choosing [Devilsaur Tooth] over [Devilsaur Eye], but the effect was unlike any other trinket I’ve seen, so I decided to keep the Tooth. The Eye is easily replaceable with any of the AP trinkets from Outland (although the Hit rating is nice). I feel like the Tooth would benefit Beast Masters more during those pre-BC levels.

Now if only I could keep the heads of each of the elite beasts I had to hand in to Nesingwary and his son. Those would be 8 items I will proudly keep in my bank.

Next time, I’ll talk about some more random items I’ve collected as trophies or just because they were cool.

15 responses

  1. Before jumping onto the World of Warcraft bandwagon during the open beta, the only other MMORPG I had played was Ultima Online. I loved Ultima Online with every fiber of my being and played religiously enough that I was a GM for one of the largest free servers out there.

    One of the things that really drew me to the game was how you could collect things. Player housing was implemented and then there was player-created housing. You could craft furniture, make paintings, grow plants, craft armor and display it, and tweak how you placed items to stack them and make interesting things. When I played, I was the server’s Number One Interior Decorator™ and I was paid thousands of gold per redecorating job, making me the wealthiest person on a server of over a thousand unique accounts and spanning about twenty-three countries across the world.

    And you’d find the most interesting things that people horded while redecorating their homes. Some people kept crafted armors sets and displayed some, while others favored various weapons that they’d gathered during their journeys. Others kept other gruesome trophies, such as the heads of various beasts or the claw of a dragon or even body parts of fellow players they defeated while on the battlefield, carefully preserved and displayed on shelves in their castle foyers. One friend of mine had a row of severed heads that he saved as a “bounty hunter” of sorts; when people were ganked, they called on this fellow to come in and exact retribution for a set sum of gold.

    And, due to the nature of the server, we had quite a few people who were proud of their heritage. Colored bolts of cloth were often used to design flags on the roofs of towers to display national pride.

    I really wish that Blizzard would implement player housing.

    9 June 2008 at 11:06

  2. Oh, another trash collector, how nice!
    And you obviously love trinkets just as I do!
    I wrote a post about it, an ode to the trinket with some recalls of those I’ve loved most, the Nifty Stopwatch topping it.

    http://larisamage.blogg.se/2008/february/lovsang-till-trinketen.html

    My bank’s just full of junc, nostalgic stuff like that. I waited so long for that bloody mushroom so I just can’t make myself destroy it now. A while ago however I forced myself to take the first step: I deliberately destroyed my first lvl 40 mount, which i wrote about in a blog post. http://larisamage.blogg.se/2008/may/needed-a-mount-graveyard.html

    Some of the readers seem pretty upset about it, still I don’t have any big regrets about it, which surprise me a bit. I’m really soft hearted normally.

    10 June 2008 at 06:15

  3. Actually 3.0 is just fine for a BM provided you use a 3:2 Shot Rotation.

    10 June 2008 at 14:13

  4. @Drotara – Oooo.. That I didn’t know. I’m still very new to this whole shot rotation stuff. Thanks for correcting me.

    10 June 2008 at 15:02

  5. Pingback: Mania’s Arcania » Community Round-Up: Trophies, Crabs and Fish

  6. im a bit of a pack rat in real life to.but i build shelves to store all my stuff.iv got several bags full of stuff ingame,like the pointy red hat,the robe my first character (an undead priest) was wearing when i started playing,and the illusonary rod he had from level 34 to 60 (just never found anything better till then).
    every time i turn in those animal parts to that lazy dwarf i cant help but feel hes bragging about how HE killed them 5 minutes after im out of sight…

    23 June 2008 at 22:00

  7. Pingback: One player’s trinket is another player’s trophy | Warcraft-News.com

  8. Pingback: One player’s trinket is another player’s trophy

  9. Pingback: MMO Clerks » One player’s trinket is another player’s trophy

  10. Pingback: G2arena WoW News Feeds » One player’s trinket is another player’s trophy

  11. My collections, and not yet done.

    Atm, i’m trying to build a tanking set.

    26 June 2008 at 03:29

  12. Pingback: Making the Environment Work for You « 35 Yards Out

  13. Pingback: So Many Things, So Little Time « 35 Yards Out

  14. Pingback: One player's trinket is another player's trophy - WOW Insider - Curse

  15. Pingback: Proof I Am A Pack Rat « 35 Yards Out

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.