Where the view is always better.

Click the Cube NOW!

Inside Magtheridon\'s Lair.

Yes, that is Magtheridon. It was my first time there last night. One of my guildmates asked if anyone was available to DPS the raid after finished Gruul. It was mostly an outside guild run including some PuGs. Now I, along with 3 or 4 other people out of 25, have never done Mags before. From what I hear, it used to be really hard, and now it’s more simple. I was clueless on how cube-clicking worked. However, I was still assigned backup cube clicker anyway. I learn fast, so it should be fine.

The fight basically goes like this: from the entrance, work your way counterclockwise and kill the channelers one by one. Once the first channeler is engaged, you’re on a 2-minute timer before Magtheridon is released. DPS fast, and you should have one or no channelers left when the timer is up. At this point, DPS until Magtheridon is about to do Blast Nova. Right when this happens, five people need to click the five cubes near simultaneously to stop the blast (coordinated through Ventrilo). Keep DPSing and going back to the cube at Blast Nova. At 30%, the ceiling collapses, and cube clickers must get away from their platforms.

Raid blew up from lack of clicking by raid leader on first attempt.

During the first attempt, the raid leader himself wasn’t at his cube, so he blew up the raid. Good job. Everyone just started laughing. It’s one of those “oh crap” moments when we realized someone wasn’t clicking on a cube.

In the second attempt, the main tank that was supposed to be tanking Magtheridon had and interface error, and WoW shut down during the channelers fight. This resulted in certain and immediate death when Magtheridon was released.

Collapsing ceiling of Magtheridon\'s Lair.

In this third attempt. You can see the ceiling collapsing in the screenshot above. At this point, all cube clickers must be off the platforms to avoid falling rocks. I was already dead from immolations on the ground, and the healers didn’t get to me quickly enough. Thankfully, the primary cube clicker kept himself alive.

Magtheridon final push.

With only five people dead (including yours truly), we managed to down Magtheridon with perfect execution. Look at all those debuffs on him! He was about to throw another Blast Nova 2 seconds before we killed him. Everyone just went all out DPS to make sure we didn’t have a 1% wipe.

[Chestguard of the Fallen Hero] token dropped, but once again the Random Number Generator didn’t cooperate with my wanting Tier 4 gear. Regardless, the reward of experience is priceless.

Magtheridon is probably one of the most interesting fights I’ve ever seen. I wonder what was different about the fight before Patch 2.4. To me, it just seemed pretty straightforward. At least it’s not as luck-based as the Prince Malchezaar fight.

I wonder when I will hit Serpentshrine Cavern…

3 responses

  1. Grats on Maggy man, he’s a fun fight!

    8 June 2008 at 11:08

  2. Magtheridon is a fun fight, but it’s ridiculously easy compared to its earlier incarnations. When I raid it as my hunter I’m usually just DPSing away, but when I have my priestess I seem to always get drafted into cube clicking. I think it’s because I’ve done it before and I’m just the lowly Spirit-priestess!

    And Serpentshrine Cavern is a blast. If you’re successfully running Magtheridon, you’re probably more than ready for any of the Tier 5 raids.

    8 June 2008 at 14:16

  3. Heh…we got Magtheridon down last night. My first 25-man raid! I was on my Priest, healing the second cube-clicker. We wiped a few times due to misclicking and such, but the 4th time was the charm. Our guild recently reorganized, and this was the first time the “new” guild had taken down Mags. No DKP for me, so no loot. That could change tonight.

    Grats on the take-down, though! :D

    10 June 2008 at 13:41

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.